Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Conflict over files being used by other scripts

Hi,

I am a pretty new administrator/developer on QlikView.

Lately I've been getting notifications that a script is failing.

The document log says:

Error: The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process.

The task log says:

Error: The source document was NOT reloaded successfully.

The file referenced in the document log is various TaskExecutionHistory files (almost different one for each fail). So it seems my failing script has some conflict over these files that is being written to from other scripts.

My questions are:

1. Is this somewhat "expected" to happen when one has many applications and tasks running?

2. Would it be possible to modify the script (the failing one) to read the files in question although it is being used by another process?

3. Possible to modify the script to not fail if the file is in use? But instead continue? If possible, is it a bad idea?

I appreciate all your input.

9 Replies
Chris_Rice
Support
Support

I'm a bit confused as to what's happening here.  Are you attempting to load the TaskExecutionHistory files into a QVW or QVD, or are you getting that error on a write function?  I ask because I'm pretty sure QV writes to that file after a reload, and if that's when you're seeing the error it's probably a bug.  If this is the case, what is the size of that file at the time of the error (I'm thinking 0KB).

If, on the other hand, you're getting this error during a read of that file it could very well be cause by conflicts from other load scripts.  In general, QV will lock a file that it's reading from in order to prevent any edits during the read process.  So, if another script is trying to read from the same file at the same time you're bound to get errors.

Bill_Britt
Former Employee
Former Employee

Hi,