Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Fresh Server/Publisher Install - QMC Keeps asking for QDS to be Restarted

I'm pretty new to Qlikview.  I did a fresh install (11sr7) of the server/publisher (seperate machines) and have 2 issues perhaps someone has an idea about.

The Qlikview Server service can only start from the Qlikview Admin account, all the other services can only start from the Admin account.  I'm forced to put the QVSupport account into both WinAD groups which doesn't seem logical/right to me much less implementing best practices.

A more pressing concern is the QMC Services Status shows green BUT the QDS shows Yellow and service needs restart.  I restart the serrvice on the box (it shows running already) and it's fine for a few minutes then switches back to needing to restart it again.  I tested in the QMC of documents and triggers are firing, distribution is showing and the AccessPoint shows the documents.  This is odd behaviour to me and wonder if anyone has an idea?

Thanks.

3 Replies
Peter_Cammaert
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

1. Indeed this isn't logical. (QlikView) Admin passwords will change over time, which has a horrible effect on services. Your users will not hesitate to make you aware of this. Best thing you can do is to create a Service Account in your AD. It doesn't need any special privileges (fewer is better, but AD access is required for the DSC), except that the password shouldn't expire. Do not forget to make this account a member of the Local Administrators group on your server box (and of all QlikView local groups you are currently using)
  2. Hmm, not sure what is causing this. Did you consult the various QlikView service logs on both machines? They may contain indicators as to what is causing this repetitive behavior.

Best,

Peter

rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP