Qlik Community

QlikView Publisher

Discussion Board for collaboration on QlikView Publisher.

Announcements
QlikView Fans! We’d love to hear from you.
Share your QlikView feedback with the product team… Click here to participate in our 5-minute survey.
Rules, plus terms and conditions, can be found here.
athompsonhp
New Contributor III

Named Users erased after QV Server Service is restarted

Background

  • I had inherited the QV Server installation and had been updating the software to QV11.2 SR8.
  • Any time I restart the QV Server service I have to manually enter the 30 named users and 40 Document CALs.

Challenge

  • I have 30 named users out of 50 that I manually enter anytime I need to restart the QV Server Service.
  • My prior experience of restarting the service did not remove any of the user (and document) licenses.
  • I have tried following the backup the CAL information and restore, but that is not working.
  • Is there a set up step that I overlooked that would alleviate this manual reentering these licenses?
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Employee
Employee

Re: Named Users erased after QV Server Service is restarted

Andy,

Check root folder and Qlikview server folder, look for PGO files, make sure that all of them are in sync, to verify this they must have the same file timestamp ( Date modified). If one iis out of sync, specially the BorrowedCalData.pgo, it will cause you issues. Best to alleviate the issue, is to Stop the Server services >  removed the PGOs ( you can delete them or move the off their locations) > start the service again and  let the Qlikview Server recreate a fresh set of PGOs; unfortunately, you must add the CALs again.

Default PGO locations:

Root folder / Root application folder: C:\ProgramData\QlikTech\Documents

(Note this location can be manually change, if you don't know where they are you must ask the previous admin) 


Qlikview Server folder: C:\ProgramData\QlikTech\QlikViewServer


Gio

5 Replies
Employee
Employee

Re: Named Users erased after QV Server Service is restarted

Hi Andy,

If you check the QVS Event log what error is shown there about the PGO files? The main reason I have seen cause this is that the share is not there when QVS starts up.

Bill

Employee
Employee

Re: Named Users erased after QV Server Service is restarted

Andy,

Check root folder and Qlikview server folder, look for PGO files, make sure that all of them are in sync, to verify this they must have the same file timestamp ( Date modified). If one iis out of sync, specially the BorrowedCalData.pgo, it will cause you issues. Best to alleviate the issue, is to Stop the Server services >  removed the PGOs ( you can delete them or move the off their locations) > start the service again and  let the Qlikview Server recreate a fresh set of PGOs; unfortunately, you must add the CALs again.

Default PGO locations:

Root folder / Root application folder: C:\ProgramData\QlikTech\Documents

(Note this location can be manually change, if you don't know where they are you must ask the previous admin) 


Qlikview Server folder: C:\ProgramData\QlikTech\QlikViewServer


Gio

athompsonhp
New Contributor III

Re: Named Users erased after QV Server Service is restarted

Gio,

I have been battling this issue for 10 months.  I have research the documentation and could not find any resolution.

I have tested your solution by restarting the server service and all the Named Users as well as the Document CAL Users come back.

The reason for the need to restart the service every week is the Server's memory (32Gb) seems to grow to 20Gb. I have not pinned down the reason -- but back in 2007 I do remember QlikView having issues with memory leaks.  The symptoms seem to be the same as memory leaks issues in years past.

At least I am not manually entering (or reentering) all the users after the restart.

I cannot thank you enough.

Sincerely,

Andy T

athompsonhp
New Contributor III

Re: Named Users erased after QV Server Service is restarted

Thanks Bill.

I did try your suggestion and found the shares were not a factor.

Sincerely,

Andy T

Re: Named Users erased after QV Server Service is restarted

Nothing wrong with restarting the services occasionally. However, note that growing memory usage is *normal* for the QVS.exe task. This is due to QVS caching results. It's not a "problem" until you start approaching the amount of physical RAM.

-Rob

Community Browser