Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pacoli2013
Creator
Creator

6 inner joins

Hallo,

My colleague has included in his Qlikviewscript a SQL Select statement with 6 Inner Joins.

I have rewritten the script with 6 Mappings.

Loading of my Script is faster and I have after loading still 300,000 records. Of course do I have 2 Files, related/connected by a key.

Loading the script of my colleague is going slower and has after loading more than 7 million records. Of course he has only one file

We have 2 servers: a sql server with the Data WareHouse and a Qlikview server with Qlikview and N-Printing.

I have added both scripts as a worddocument.

My questions are:

1)    where are the inner joins executed: my college thinks on the SQL server, I think directly on the Qlikview server.

2)    which method is the best if one wants to work with joins.

I have to say: my colleague is a real SQL-developer, working with Qlikview sometimes. I’m a Qlikview designer/developer, working with SQL when needed.

Regards

Court

2 Replies
marcus_sommer

Only with these informations it couldn't be said that one approach is better than the other. At first is to check if both methods return the same and correct results by all objects/calculations which are needed - there might be some adjustments necessary to them to reflect the differences within the datamodel.

If both approaches are working in general your decision which one to prefer might consider which approach is more suitable to your further requirements (probably there are more tables included within the datamodel) and which is more handy to you - and of course if the load-runtimes or the UI performance is significantly different and also a real issue you had found your better solution.