Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
johnpaul
Partner - Creator
Partner - Creator

Building a new application - when do you implement security?

Hi all,

I am very new to QV.

I have been reviewing the forums, but just wondering if some experienced users could shed some light.

My customer has 40 deparments and 40 deparment managers. Each department manger needs to see only their data (sales & expenses) and the benchmark average of all deparments.

We are using community server, so section access is what I am expecting to use to restrict data.

My quesiton is should I start off by implementing security, or should I build a open model to begin with and when the corporate head office is happy with the design, then introduce the security?

Also, would perhaps set analysis be secure enough to restrcit the data set based on the user logged in?

Thanks in advance, Jp.

7 Replies
prieper
Master II
Master II

Hi,

we have three different steps:

1: initial ideas are created in each developer's directory, where normally only developers have access to. Results, screens etc are showed in smaller circle.

2. Thereafter the application is moved into "Testing"-folders, usually also without access-restrictions (a bit depending on sensivity of the data). Applications here should be tested and further improved on basis of a broader audience (inhouse). Also Data must not be complete and do not always require to be 100% accurate. This phase should not take longer than 4-6 weeks.

3. File will be moved into working-directories, access-rights are defined and tiered into various depth. Here files will be open to inhouse and externals.

HTH

Peter

Not applicable

No set analysis is not secure enough. The data may be hidden but it is still available to anyone.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi JP,