Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to load 2 different tables and analyse them seperatly in the same document

Hi

Ok so I'm a novice at QV, so you may have to explain the long way

I have 2 Excel tables: Sales and Quotes

I have all the sales imported into 1 QV document and have various stats and dashboard reports depending on departments etc.

What I would like to do is add another sheet specifically for Quotes so that I can flick between quotes and sales in the same document.

However not all Quotes will become Sales and some Sales are done via a non-quote process. Some data is quote specific where as other data is available in both the quote and sale table e.g. Customer

How do I pull the data in so that I can run the 2 reports along side each other?

Can I also do a comparison on the 2? e.g. conversion rates (Quotes to Sales by month or by sales person etc.)

Thanks for any help you can give on this

Leah

4 Replies
Colin-Albert

I would concatenate the Sales & Quotes into a single table.

Add an addition field perhaps "SalesType" which identified the record as a Sales or Quote.

Does your sales data have a field that references the quote number?

Not applicable
Author

Hi Leah,

You can try with a Qualify before the load sentence, what this do is concat the table name to the field names.

See the next example

QUALIFY *;

UNQUALIFY Customer;

Sales:

LOAD * INLINE [

Customer, Sales, OtherField

1, a, x

2, b, y

3, c, z

];

Quote:

LOAD * INLINE [

Customer, Quote, OtherField

1, h, k

2, j, l

3, n, m

];

UNQUALIFY*;

you will get a model like this. I use in line loads, but you can replace it for your data source.

model.png

Hope it helps!

Regards!

Not applicable
Author