Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to remove time stamp from a field?

Hi all,

I have a field that contains date and time in a DD/MM/YYYY HH:MM:SS format; I do not need time for my analysis and in fact, the time stamp is making it difficult to create MinDate and MaxDate for Master Calendar, based on the above field (I'm new to QlikView btw so perhaps I should approach the Master Calendar differently, please advise if that's the case).

Is there a way to eliminate the time value from my field, or perhaps to limit the load of this field to first 10 characters?

Many thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MK_QSL
MVP
MVP

=DATE(FLOOR(Timestamp#(YourTimeStampField)),'DD/MM/YYYY')

if you want to create a calendar use.

=MIN(NUM(DATE(FLOOR(Timestamp#(YourTimeStampField)),'DD/MM/YYYY')))

and

=MAX(NUM(DATE(FLOOR(Timestamp#(YourTimeStampField)),'DD/MM/YYYY')))

View solution in original post

8 Replies
PrashantSangle

Hi,

Try this,

Date(Date#(fieldname,'DD/MM/YYYY HH:MM:SS'),'DD/MM/YYYY') as fieldname

or

Date(TimeStamp#(fieldname,'DD/MM/YYYY HH:MM:SS'),'DD/MM/YYYY') as fieldname

Regards,

Great dreamer's dreams never fulfilled, they are always transcended.
Please appreciate our Qlik community members by giving Kudos for sharing their time for your query. If your query is answered, please mark the topic as resolved 🙂
MK_QSL
MVP
MVP

if you want to create a calendar use.

=MIN(NUM(DATE(FLOOR(Timestamp#(YourTimeStampField)),'DD/MM/YYYY')))

and

=MAX(NUM(DATE(FLOOR(Timestamp#(YourTimeStampField)),'DD/MM/YYYY')))

MK_QSL
MVP
MVP

Below script will tell you how to create Master Calendar from Min and Max TimeStamp.

DateField:

Load * Inline

[

DateField

19/03/2014 11:31:14

31/03/2014 20:12:12

];

MinMax:

Load

MIN(NUM(DATE(FLOOR(Timestamp#(DateField)),'DD/MM/YYYY'))) as MinDate,

MAX(NUM(DATE(FLOOR(Timestamp#(DateField)),'DD/MM/YYYY'))) as MaxDate

Resident DateField;