Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
marco_puccetti
Partner - Creator
Partner - Creator

Indirect Set Analysis

Hi i'm new to Qlikview and i need a further explaination about p() and e() functions.

I've read on the guides the meaning of these two functions but i'm really interested in there real functionality.

In this example we can omit the p operator?

sum({$<CompanyName = p({$<CategoryName={'Baby Clothes'}>}

CompanyName) - p({$<CategoryName={'SportsWear'}>}

CompanyName)>} Sales)

In particular can you explain me the difference between:

p({$<CategoryName={'Baby Clothes'}>}CompanyName)

and

{$<CategoryName={'Baby Clothes'}>}CompanyName

and you can explain me the same thing form the e function?

Thank you

Marco

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Gysbert_Wassenaar

You can't leave out the p operator. This isn't correct syntax: {$<CategoryName={'Baby Clothes'}>}CompanyName. Nor would sum({$<CategoryName={'Baby Clothes'}>}CompanyName) be since names are not something to aggregate. It's not clear what you actually meant. I'll try to explain things a bit below.

Some sample data:

CompanyCategorySales
ABaby Clothes10
ASportsWear20
BBaby Clothes15
BDresses25
CSportsWear15
CDresses20

sum({$<Category={'Baby Clothes'}>}Sales) will return the sum of sales for only Baby Clothes. It will return this per company:

CompanySum of Sales
A10
B15

Company C didn't sell any Baby Clothes so it is not shown in the table.

sum({$<Company = p({$<Category={'Baby Clothes'}>} Company) >} Sales) will return the total sales for each company that sold (among other things) Baby Clothes. That looks like this per company:

CompanySum of Sales
A30
B40