Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
datanibbler
Champion
Champion

IntervalMatch() - how to use it in this case?

Hi,

I have a new requirement, something I haven't done before, at least not in this constellation, so some help would be nice:

- I have a table with all the employees we have (or had) in our company, together with their joining_date and leaving_date
=> There are those that are currently with the company
=> There are those who have already left (with the corresp. leaving_date)

I have no specific date_field in the table. In my app I have a master_calendar, that has every day.

Now I have to use IntervalMatch to find out which employees were there on a given day, so that day (from the calendar)

must be matched to the interval between an employee's joining_date and his/her leaving_date.

I used IntervalMatch() before, but then I had a list - an inline_table - of intervals. This time around, I have two tables - one (the calendar) has every single day and the other has the joining_date and leaving_date.

So how to go about this?

Thanks a lot!

Best regards,

DataNibbler

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
hic
Former Employee
Former Employee

Employees:
Load EmployeeD, JoiningDate, LeavingDate, ...
          From Employees;

Employees_x_Dates:

Load EmployeeD,
          Date( JoiningDate + IterNo() – 1 ) as ReferenceDate
          Resident Employees
          While IterNo() <= LeavingDate - JoiningDate + 1 ;

And then you link your reference date to your calendar. Check the link in my previous answer.

HIC

View solution in original post

7 Replies
hic
Former Employee
Former Employee

You should use a While-loop to create all dates in the interval, and then connect the individual dates to your calendar. Take a look at Creating Reference Dates for Intervals.

HIC

datanibbler
Champion
Champion
Author

Hi Henric,

thanks for the answer!