Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ben0109
Contributor III
Contributor III

Move file if date modified is newer

Hi

I am new to Qlikview, so what I "know" is from Google...

I have a couple of Excel documents with financial records for different entities. When a file is updated, the user will drop it in a folder (full path will is C:\Test\Current\May_2019_statements.xlsx). When the Qlikview database reloads, the file must be moved to the processed folder (full path will is C:\Test\Processed\May_2019_statements.xlsx).

The Excel files have a summary on Sheet1, clearly indicating the month, and total sales (Columns A1 and B1). My goal is for Qlikview to do the following:

1. Move file from Current folder to Processed folder, if the date modified is newer.

2. Update the records for the specific month in the Qlikview table.

This is what I have so far:

LET ProcessedPath = 'C:\Test\Processed';
LET CurrentPath = 'C:\Test\Current';
FOR each Dir in DirList "$(CurrentPath)"
        FOR each File in FileList "$(CurrentPath)\*.xl*"
                EXECUTE cmd.exe /C Move /Y "$(CurrentPath)\*.xl*" "$(UnreadPath)\";
        next File
next Dir

LOAD * INLINE [
A1, B1
Month Name, Month values
];

From the above, all that works is to move the file, although it replaces without notice and does not do any checks on the last modified dates.

Any help with be much appreciated.

1 Reply
Brett_Bleess
Former Employee
Former Employee

The INLINE load is the issue here, that requires you to give the values, you need to drop the INLINE and load from the Excel files, and I think you are going to need to concatenate things as well, but I am not sure, not a very good developer, sorry.