Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Script little help

Hello all,

I'm a newbie so please forgive me for this question if it is too easy.

I have already made the my SQL script and the pivot tables, the charts everything. The only problem I have and I do not want to change the SQL script is the following:

My lines have some values like this.

peter, student, patras
tom, student, athens
john, worker, mykonos

I want every time that I get the value 'athens' to transform it to 'central'. How can I do this in the script?

Thanks!!!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Miguel_Angel_Baeyens

Hello,

Do something like the following in the script (it will save you time in debugging charts and will perform better):

Person:LOAD Name, Position, If(City = 'Athens', 'Central', City) AS City;SQL SELECT Name, Position, CityFROM database.table;

Hope this helps

View solution in original post

5 Replies
Miguel_Angel_Baeyens

Hello,

Do something like the following in the script (it will save you time in debugging charts and will perform better):

Person:LOAD Name, Position, If(City = 'Athens', 'Central', City) AS City;SQL SELECT Name, Position, CityFROM database.table;

Hope this helps

Not applicable
Author

Perfect it works fine!

If in the future I have to have multiple IF? Can I create a conversion table or something?

johnw
Champion III
Champion III

If it's only a few values, I'd probably do a nested if. When more than a few values, consider a mapping table:

MyMap:
MAPPING LOAD * INLINE [
Change This, To This
Athens, Central
NYC, New York City
etc.
];

Person:
LOAD Name,
Position,
applymap('MyMap',City,City) AS City;
SQL SELECT Name, Position, City
FROM database.table;

Not applicable
Author

It seems better but what about the cities I want to remain unchanged? I only get values for the cities I put in the map.