Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Splitting a table during load?

Hi, I am quite new to Qlik (Sense) and am wondering if there is an easier way to "vertically" split a table.

The situation I am in, is:

I have got tables that contain data for several different products in different columns.

colA1, ..., colAn, colB1, ..., colBn, colC1, ..., colC3,...

Where colA1, ... contain data for product A

Where colB1, ... contain data for product B

and so on

So in order to do some of my reporting I have split the tables like this

LOAD

columns for prod A

WHERE

columnA > 0

;

LOAD

columns for prod B

WHERE

columnB > 0

;

Which results in the original table being read several times during load. Is there any known way to have the split in one go?

Any suggestions or hints are appreciated

Ralph

9 Replies
Gysbert_Wassenaar

Nope, one load statement can generate only one table.

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand
petter
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

‌Is it the speed that concerns you or is it the number of load statements that is cumbersome? Both can be addressed. Not completely but quite significantly.

sunny_talwar

I have an example which you might find useful.

Please have a look and see if this helps.

Best,

Sunny

petter
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

‌Actually you gain very little by splitting one table into many. The way Qlik Sense works with its associative database and de-duplication (compression) it  will be more efficient and speedier in keeping it in one table. So why do you need to split it in the first place?

sunny_talwar

I totally forgot this was Qlik Sense discussion. But the idea might still work. Let me paste the script here:

Table:

CrossTable(Measurement, Data, 3)

LOAD Dim1,

Dim2,

Dim3,

[Price 1] & '|' & [Quantity 1],