Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Using "Exist()" when creating QVDs

Hi,

I am not too technical so sorry if the below sounds too simplified.

I am creaing QVDs from DB tables, one by one, with a SQL SELECT + STORE + DROP

However I have a "size" problem.

- I have table A: "Impressions" with a 'user_key' field which I load for one month ==> QVD size is 650M

- I have a table B: "Users" which also have 'user_key' but loads all time ==> QVD size is 1.7GB

What I want to do is load table B only for 'user_key' values which are in table B.

Later when I am loading the QVDs, I use LOAD-FROM-WHERE exist().

But I want to reduce the QVD size even before.

Any idea how to do this ?

Thanks

Gur

2 Replies
Gysbert_Wassenaar

The only way to create table B so that from the start it only contains the records for users from table A is to use an sql statement that left joins table A to table B. That way the sql statement will return the set of data you want.

If that is not possible then all records from table B must be loaded into Qlikview first. You can use a left keep to immediately after loading all records throw out all that don't have a matching user in table A.

Table A

select user_key, ...etc

from mydb.tableA;

Store [Table A] into tablea.qvd;

left keep

Table B

select user_key, ...etc

from mydb.tableB;

Store [Table B] into tableb.qvd;

drop tables [Table A], [Table B];

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand
swuehl
MVP
MVP

If I understood correctly, it should be enough not dropping the complete table after the SELECT - STORE of table A. Just drop all other fields except the user_key.

DROP FIELDS FieldA, FieldB;

Then do a preceding LOAD for your second table B with the where exists clause:

LOAD * WHERE EXISTS(user_key);

SELECT ... FROM tableB;

STORE tableB into ...;

Drop TABLE tableB;

Drop FIELD user_key;