Skip to main content
Announcements
July 15, NEW Customer Portal: Initial launch will improve how you submit Support Cases. IMPORTANT DETAILS
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jan-Hendrik
Partner - Contributor III
Partner - Contributor III

Qlik Sense SaaS - How to stop non-owners deleting apps in shared spaces

Hi

It seems that in Qlik Sense Enterprise SaaS members in a shared space with edit rights are able to delete apps owned by other members.

Is there a way to stop non-owner members deleting other member's apps in a shared space

While it make sense to me to allow other members to collaborate on a app in a shared space, it does not make sense to me that anyone with edit rights in a space can go and delete any app in it. Surely this should be limited to only the app owner having the ability to delete his or her app (and of course a admin user on the management console)?

To further support this point, from a integrity point of view this is a problem, because if a app was published from a shared space to a managed space, then even though the app isn't in the shared space anymore, it is still in the managed space. I've played around using my user that have full security on the admin side and the space side, and it seems impossible to move the app or duplicate the app back into a shared or personal space again. On the management consol side, you only have the option to move the app to another managed space - aaagh what to do, what to do???

Thank you, any ideas would be appreciated

Kind regards,

Jan-Hendrik

 

 

 

Labels (3)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Seanog_Murphy
Creator III
Creator III

Hi @Jan-Hendrik,

You are correct, a user with edit permissions in a shared space should be able to delete an app in that shared space. I would expect that this is working as designed, as if the user has permission to edit the app then there is nothing to stop them deleting all the data from the app which is essentially the same as deleting the app itself.

Shared spaces are designed for more two or more users to collaboratively develop apps and sheets together. If you are concerned that the other members of the space are going to delete data, then I would suggest to duplicate the app before publishing to a shared space. This way you at least have a version of the app that you can revert back to if there are any issues. Please note however that any changes / edits made in the shared space will not be reflected in the version of the app in your personal space.

Regarding the managed spaces, this is also working as designed. Managed spaces are for apps that have already been developed and are intended to be consumed. It is still possible to publish new sheets to an app in a managed space but it is not possible to move it back to a shared or personal space. The idea is that most users who are members of a managed space would be consuming the data rather than developing new apps / sheets. 

You can find more information about spaces in the links below:
https://help.qlik.com/en-US/cloud-services/Subsystems/Hub/Content/Sense_Hub/Spaces/working-in-manage...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uG2ManGrPgs

If you are not satisfied and have some use cases where you think this functionality would be helpful, then I would recommend that you create a feature request by following the steps here:
https://community.qlik.com/t5/Knowledge/How-To-Submit-Feature-Requests-For-Qlik-Products/ta-p/171258...

View solution in original post

2 Replies
Seanog_Murphy
Creator III
Creator III

Hi @Jan-Hendrik,

You are correct, a user with edit permissions in a shared space should be able to delete an app in that shared space. I would expect that this is working as designed, as if the user has permission to edit the app then there is nothing to stop them deleting all the data from the app which is essentially the same as deleting the app itself.

Shared spaces are designed for more two or more users to collaboratively develop apps and sheets together. If you are concerned that the other members of the space are going to delete data, then I would suggest to duplicate the app before publishing to a shared space. This way you at least have a version of the app that you can revert back to if there are any issues. Please note however that any changes / edits made in the shared space will not be reflected in the version of the app in your personal space.

Regarding the managed spaces, this is also working as designed. Managed spaces are for apps that have already been developed and are intended to be consumed. It is still possible to publish new sheets to an app in a managed space but it is not possible to move it back to a shared or personal space. The idea is that most users who are members of a managed space would be consuming the data rather than developing new apps / sheets. 

You can find more information about spaces in the links below:
https://help.qlik.com/en-US/cloud-services/Subsystems/Hub/Content/Sense_Hub/Spaces/working-in-manage...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uG2ManGrPgs

If you are not satisfied and have some use cases where you think this functionality would be helpful, then I would recommend that you create a feature request by following the steps here:
https://community.qlik.com/t5/Knowledge/How-To-Submit-Feature-Requests-For-Qlik-Products/ta-p/171258...

Jan-Hendrik
Partner - Contributor III
Partner - Contributor III
Author

Thanks for the feedback