Skip to main content

Suggest an Idea

Vote for your favorite Qlik product ideas and add your own suggestions.

Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE

Change button behavior for Close to Commit and Cancel

ShireyJW
Contributor III
Contributor III

Change button behavior for Close to Commit and Cancel

In various locations throughout Compose, the only option presented to the user is "close" to dismiss a window.  When this button is clicked, whatever changes (either intended or unintended) will be applied.  We notice when doing demos that we don't want to make changes but clicking the "close" button will potentially make changes. 

We would like a more standard set of options whenever there is "code" behind the close button (we would like to cancel out without changes).

Tags (1)
3 Comments
Tzachi_Nissim
Employee
Employee

Hi ShireyJW,

Thank you for your idea. Can you please provide specific examples? We are considering changing our experience around metadata editing, but not as a product-wide change.

Regards,

Tzachi

Status changed to: Open - Collecting Feedback
ShireyJW
Contributor III
Contributor III
When we are demoing the solution to our constituents, we are opening up screens like ETL mappings and other things to show what was created. The only option to dismiss the screens is to click "close". We know we didn't and don't want any changes (because we are showing, not changing things). Unfortunately, if something was accidently changed by the demo, the "close" action seems to "commit" the changes... even though we don't want that to happen. So, we click close and hope that nothing material happens during demos.
TimGarrod
Employee
Employee

This feature is not planned for Qlik Compose but is under consideration for Qlik Cloud DI

Status changed to: Open - Not Planned