Qlik Community

Third-Party Qlik Jobs

Area for people to learn more about current Qlik related job postings.

Not applicable

Can i Choose QlikView as career after 11+ years of experience in IT on MS Technologies

Hi All

I have 11+ years of IT Experience in Microsoft Technologies from core developer to technical project management roles.  Recently  i had a chance to feel the beauty of QlikView presentation and started building the passion to switch to QlikView.

Can someone help me in supporting me whether my decision is wise at this point of career switch?

Rama Kanth

5 Replies
henrikmatz
Contributor II

Re: Can i Choose QlikView as career after 11+ years of experience in IT on MS Technologies

I believe that a all round qlikview developer needs several skills:

1) QlikView design skills. The ability to design functional dashboards to the end users.

2) ETL skills. The ability to create a data model that supports the business demands. When using Qlikview as ETL tool, you need good skills in Qlikview scripting and knowledge in how to solve standard issues like incremental loading, slowly changing dimension etc.

3) Business understanding. The ability to understand the business and there reasons for there dashboards demands. If you have very good skills, you are able to design a data model also for future demands from the business.

4) Project management skills. The ability to deliver in time and to make the right priorities when time is not enough.

5) SQL and database skills. A lot of source systems are stored in databases, so you need experience in making SQL to draw data from the systems.

6) Data warehousing skills. The knowledge of best practice in building data warehouses.

7) Generel IT skills. Knowledge about active directory, NTFS etc. on a basic level.

But I also believe, that you can be a good QlikView developer if you are specialized in some of them. This depends on the situation, your business, colleagues etc.