3 Replies Latest reply: Jul 30, 2015 5:30 AM by Thomas Hopp RSS

    Side effects of uninstalling Qlik Sense Server upgrade

    Gary Strader

      I recently upgraded to Qlik Sense 2.0.2.  I had the issue some other people have had with apps not migrating, but manual migration of the app fixed it.

       

      Since I chose to apply the 2.0.2 update package, it now appears in "Installed Updates" and I can uninstall it.  What is the effect of uninstalling an update?  Knowing that there could be changes to database schemas, settings, apps, etc, it seems that there could be unintended consequences of doing a rollback to 2.0.1.  For example, let's say version 2.0.2 adds a field to a repository table, which starts getting populated.  Does the uninstall remove that field and its contents?  What about new log file formats and rolling back to the old operations monitor app?

       

      Has anyone tried to roll back and had issues?

       

      I'd like to hear back from a Qlik employee on this, if there are any best practices and known issues of doing a rollback.

        • Re: Side effects of uninstalling Qlik Sense Server upgrade
          alexander korsikov

          just now, i'm do  it.  Uninstall update 2.0.2 and now have server 2.0.1. Tasks working, user can open application and etc. On first view everything fine!

          • Re: Side effects of uninstalling Qlik Sense Server upgrade
            Thomas Hopp

            Hi Gary,

             

            thanks for asking this question. During the planning phase of the new update capability we talked about those use cases a lot because allowing you to go easily back and force in the SR Track without touching your baseline installation is one of the main reasons behind the new way of using the SR (Service Release) Track. An update won't contain anything new which won't allow you to go back to a previous version in the SR track.

             

            We will introduce changes to the product which are maybe not allowing you to go backwards without having a backup from your previously installed version only in the Feature Track.

             

            Here is another link which talks about the different ways of installing the product.

             

            Please let me know if you have any other question about this.

             

            Best regards,

            Thomas

            • Re: Side effects of uninstalling Qlik Sense Server upgrade
              Thomas Hopp

              just to add something especially about the App Migration scenario. Since Qlik Sense 2.0 we will take care of the App Migration when updating your environment. This means as well that we are taking care of the downgrade because with Qlik Sense 2.0 and moving forward, we introduced the ability to use the App back and force in between of the same Major release without having the need of taking a manual backup of the App first.

               

              This means an App created in 2.0.1 can be used in 2.0.2, 2.0.3, ... or in 2.1 or 2.2. But in case it is needed the App can be imported back into an environment again where a previous version is installed, even if the App has been used already with an upcoming version like 2.1. As soon as the App has been migrated once into a 3.0 format, you can go back to 2.x.x only bay taking a backup of the App and the repository first and then it will behave in the same way inside of the 3.x.x Major release until Qlik Sense 4.0 will be released.

               

              Again, let me / us know if there are any questions.

               

              Best regards,

              Thomas