5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 19, 2016 4:28 PM by Oleg Troyansky RSS

QlikSense Variable Definition Issue - pls help

Hello,#

I'm a novice to data visualization and am using Qlik Sense Cloud.

I am trying to add two KPI's - one to show "YoY change in Revenue" in £ value and one as a percentage value. Someone told me I need to define variables to do this so I got online and tried to adapt some expressions I thought looked helpful. I am therefore using the following expressions at the moment:

For £ Value:

(Sum({$<vMaxYr = {$(=MaxYr)}>} Revenue)-Sum({$<vMinYr = {$(=MinYr) Revenue)

For % value

(Sum({$<vMaxYr = {$(=MaxYr)}>} Revenue)-Sum({$<vMinYr = {$(=MinYr) Revenue)) / Sum({$<vMinYr = {$(=Min year(2014))}>})

I'm fairly clueless about the syntax and even how to define a variable in QlikSense- in laymens terms what I'm trying to show with the KPI's is:

Sum(Revenue for this year) - Sum (Revenue for previous year), and

(Sum(Revenue for this year) - Sum (Revenue for previous year)) / Sum (Revenue for previous year)

Also, there will eventually be more than 2 years of data so just wondering if it's possible to create an expression that shows values based on the years selected in a filter pane, for example to see YoY growth stats for 1998 and 1999.

I would be grateful for recommendations to any links / resources that might help.

Best wishes,

Braddy Longlegs

• Re: QlikSense Variable Definition Issue - pls help
          Oleg Troyansky

Hi Braddy,

I can see that you are quite confused with the terminology and the syntax. I'd say some basic education, or at least a book, could help.

Let me try and explain some of the basics. For the YoY comparison, we use Set Analysis (the quirky syntax enclosed in squiggly brackets { }). In the Set Analysis condition, we use filters that we apply to your data fields. For example:

Field = {Values}, or Year = {2016}