8 Replies Latest reply: May 4, 2016 1:54 AM by Gysbert Wassenaar RSS

Remove/add rows based on the value of a variable

Asif Mehedi

I have a dimension (let's call it dim1) with three values: A, B, and C. There's a button which toggles the value of a variable (let's call the variable vButton) between 0 and 1. This is what I'd like to happen. When vButton is 0, all charts will reflect only the rows associated with A and B in dim1 (as if the rows associated with C didn't exist). When vButton is 1, all rows in the dataset (including the ones associated with C) will be used to populate the chart. Essentially, based on the value of vButton, some rows will be temporarily removed or added back.

I'm new to Qlik and I'm puzzled as to why this seems so difficult to do. I tried set expressions, but that seems to be chart specific. I could probably write set expressions for each chart, but that sounds unnecessarily complicated. How should I go about solving this? Thanks a lot in advance.

• Re: Remove/add rows based on the value of a variable
          Gysbert Wassenaar

Instead of a Set Variable action you can use a Toggle Select action and directly toggle the selection of the value C in the field. This is easier than using a variable. But perhaps you want to apply this selection only to one chart. In that case using a variable makes sense. You can use a calculated dimension: =if( $(vButton) =1, if(dim1<>'C' ,dim1), dim1).

Marcus Sommer

If you want to avoid hard-coded conditions within the expressions for all these objects you will need to add your logic within the datamodel. This meant to create a flag-field from 0 or 1 to your data which then could be queried within the expressions per set analysis like:

sum({ < Flag = {">=$(vButton)"}>} YourValue)

whereby the 0/1 logic is reversed to your suggestion - which meant that 1 = limited dimension and 0 = all dimension values.