20 Replies Latest reply: Jun 21, 2016 9:17 AM by Eoin Darcy RSS

Count of times expression is within a range

Brian Joseph

Hi,

I have  a pivot table similar to below.  Each person is given a score every week and I have the expression varX that calculates it.  I show it below for clarity.   I want to get a % of the scores within a performance range for each week. I will be working with four UNEVEN ranges. I tried the set analysis format below but it does not work. It returns a number but if I change the number the returned values don't change. I suspect its counting everything.  Thank you in advance for any ideas.

Returns a number but changing ranges has no effect:

vTier2=Count({$<vScore={">.85<=.90"}>}Name) 

NameWeek #
      Person AvarX=.75
      Person BvarX=.8
      Person CvarX=.82
      Person DvarX=.73
      Person EvarX=.91
      Person EvarX=.84

p.s. I am new to QV and find the syntax confusing with the use of single vs. double quotes and where to place symbols. So if you can explain any incorrect syntax I would appreciate it!

• Re: Count of times expression is within a range
          Sunny Talwar

What is vScore here? Is this a field name or is this a variable? Would you be able to post a sample qvw? For set analysis syntax you can look at this guide

Set Analysis: syntaxes, examples

Brian Joseph

I am sorry. I meant varX.  

varX = vScore

Brian Joseph

Hi Sunny,

Strangely I know I replied to this but don't see it.  My error. I changed the name.

varX = VScore

Ramon Covarrubias

you are not able to use the vScore variable that way, normally the variables that work with set analysis tend to be a fixed value and you compare a field against them

is "varX" a calculated value or a fixed value  ?  If it is a fixed value just use that instead of the variable and it should work, if it is a calculated, can you run that calculation in the script ?

Brian Joseph

Hi Ramon,