40 Replies Latest reply: Jan 14, 2013 6:04 AM by Barry Harmsen RSS

I thought QlikView was supposed to be easy to learn

Hello Everyone,

Of course I'm a newbie not only to this product but from a technical perspective BI in general. I'm not finding this product to be user friendly at all. Perhaps it's just the newness of it all but I'm wondering did anyone else fell this way at the start?

• I thought QlikView was supposed to be easy to learn

Yes, I felt the same but when you try a lot you will get the hang of it. Through this forum you can get much help.

Succes!

Couldn't agree more. I started using it 3 days ago............

Steve Dark

Hi There,

I found that following through the tutorial that gets put in the folder C:\Program Files\QlikView\Tutorial (provided you do a full install with default options) was a brilliant start point. I got through this in a couple of days and was able to build simple applications at the end of it. Being able to use some of the advanced features only comes with time and experience. As others have said though, this forum is a good place to find answers, and ask questions.

All the best with it. I am sure you will find it worthwhile putting the effort in.

Cheers,
              Steve

John Trigg

All

This is an illuminating discussion and one we are keen to keep learning from. Steve, glad that you found the tutorial helpful. It probably should have been easier to know where it was and how to get to it. We want to add content to this 'Getting Started' forum that can also help anyone starting with QlikView. Did you have a chance to look at any of the short videos available? Are they useful? Should there be others that focus on certain topics?

Let us know your thoughts

Regards

John Trigg

Global product Manager - QlikView Developer