Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Issue with set analysis and data for last month

Hi guys,

I'm just starting out with QlikView and need to get some figures in a chart for last months activites but am having issues with doing this.

I have a table of attendance information and I'm loading the following as part of my script:

identifier,
month (month) as [Month],
year (month) as [Year],
month as [Attendance_Date],

identifier is a unique number given to an individual person - it is possible that the same person is listed in the table several times.

month is the time stamp when the attendance occurred.

I also have a number of different locations called SiteName.

What I want to do is to create a bar chart with the SiteName along the x axis and then the distinct count of individuals who attended last month.

However my understanding of set Analysis and the expression builder is letting me down. This is what I have in my expression:

Count ( {<Year=, Month= {" =addmonths(monthstart(today(),-1) "}>} distinct identifier )

Any idea on what I'm doing wrong greatly appreciated!

Thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

When using a single value, I'd enclose it in single quotes to indicate a literal. Double quotes indicate a search string, and while searching should give you the same results, I'd use a literal here.

I think you also need to use dollar sign expansion, $(=...). Otherwise, the system will, I believe, literally search for your expression, rather than the RESULT of your expression.

You'll need to include an Attendance_Date=, so that that field is ignored as well.

You have unbalanced parentheses on the addmonths() part of the expression. You need one more closing parenthesis after today().

=addmonths(monthstart(today()),-1)