3 Replies Latest reply: Feb 21, 2017 9:42 AM by Michael Tarallo RSS

How does Qlik Sense Cloud index data?

Victor Olade

I'm a complete newb to QlikSense.

That said, I need to better understand how Qlik Sense Cloud Indexes data in order to make a certain decision.

I'm using a .csv file that will be updated every hour as a data source in QlikSense Cloud and I need to decide whether this .csv file would a) be replaced each day with current data for that day only or b) be appended with each new day so that the .csv file has historical data at least up to a month.

I prefer the first option but I'm not sure whether it would limit me to only the data that is on that excel sheet for that day, or whether Qlik has a way of indexing all the previous day's data so that I can access historical data even though it is no longer on the current version of the .csv file it is connected to as it's data source.

Please advise.

Thanks.

• Re: How does Qlik Sense Cloud index data?
          Michael Tarallo

Hi Victor - welcome to Qlik Sense Cloud, thanks for your question. Allow me to address your questions individually.

I'm a complete newb to QlikSense.

There are a lot of great resources here where you can learn a lot in little time. Just note that these are not a substitution for official Qlik education. You may want to check out our continous classroom to learn Qlik Sense on your own time and pace.

I'm using a .csv file that will be updated every hour as a data source in QlikSense Cloud and I need to decide whether this .csv file would a) be replaced each day with current data for that day only or b) be appended with each new day so that the .csv file has historical data at least up to a month.