14 Replies Latest reply: Mar 7, 2017 10:30 PM by Fabrizio Giorgio RSS

Display 0/1 fields as text in a Table Box

Fabrizio Giorgio

Hi there,

I believe this is a simple question as I am new to report writing in Qlikview

I am connecting into a database via ODBC.

I need to display a field in a Table Box with 0 and 1 values.

The field name from the loaded table is “Active”

1 should display “Active” and 0 should display “Inactive”…

How do I go about displaying Active / Inactive in my Table box instead of 0/1?

I believe what I need to do is load the required field (Active) as another field in the script (say for example: Active_Logic) that translates 1 into Active and 0 into Inactive, then display the values from Active _Logic in my Table Box.

If the above is correct, can anyone help with the syntax for this?

• Re: Display 0/1 fields as text in a Table Box
          Peter Cammaert

Do you really need to use a Table Box? Then yes, add a translation of your Active field values to the table that contains the field; You don't need to create a new table per se.

OTOH Table Boxes are not your typical QlikView object with an endless series of configuration options. They are very limited in what they can do and most of the time they simply serve as debugging tools.

For example, a simple list box can display an expression instead of a field value and as such do the translation on-the-fly without the need to change your data model.

For example, create a list box, select <expression> from the list of available fields and enter something like this in the Expression Editor:

=IF (Active=1, 'Active', 'Inactive')

Fabrizio Giorgio

Hi Peter,

Thanks for your feedback, I need all the advice I can get as I am only new to this.

What I am doing is setting up very simple reports that can be run and filtered by the user.

Our users are used to table reports (not pie charts etc...)