Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

QlikView functionality questions

I am just getting started on QlikView. However I have few questions on the tool.

1. I have scenario where client has evaluated different BI tools and QlikView. He has OLTP system and now planning to have BI. First thing he asked about QlikView is regarding dimensional model. Does Qlikview requires dimensional model to be created separately.?

2. Does QlikView requires semantic model to be created separately as like Business Objects Universe?

3. Suppose I do not have dimensional model then how can QlikView handle ETL part; means getting data from different source, data quality issues, incremental load, SCD etc. Is it a good idea to handle all these in QlikView load script itself?

4. Suppose I have a dimensional model in place. Now I want to create a dashboard where I will data from 2 dimension and 1 fact table. So I will load data from these three tables only, right? Means I only need to load data from the table required in dashboard not all the table in dimensional model?

9 Replies
suniljain
Master
Master

Dear Kuldeep,

Qlikview have In built ETL . There is not seperate ETL require in qlikview.

Not applicable
Author

Ok, I agree it does provide ETL functinoality.

But suppose I have a OLTP system (ER-Model) which n tables in it and highly normalized. Then can using QlikView to get the data from OLTP system, put it in dimensional form and the create Dashboard out of it.

I think it would way to time consuming. as I might have dimension attributes in lot of table in OLTP source system. Putting it in dimensional form using QlikView ETL does not sound a good idea.

Would like to know experience of people who have some across such scenario.

--Kuldeep

ashfaq_haseeb
Champion III
Champion III

Hi kuldeep

You can connect from multiple sourses in qlikview and can transform data the way you like.