When you edit it you would be doing that in your working copy. So it would not affect the task.
After you have tested then you can publish.
I know that publishing an app while users are in it doesn't impact the users. Not 100% sure about tasks. But it certainly would not hurt disabling the task while you publish and then turning it back on. Better safe than sorry I guess.