9 Replies Latest reply: Apr 14, 2018 12:50 AM by Sanchayan Bhowmik RSS

    Qlik Sense Work Area shown only on Development Node

    Sanchayan Bhowmik

      Hi All,

       

      When I am logging in with my credentials which has ROOT Admin privilege to HUB load balanced on Central Node, I am not able to view the Work Area Section. But when I am logging in as the same ROOT Admin to HUB load balanced on DEV Node, then Work Area is visible to me.

       

      I this what should happen that Work Area is only visible on Development Node?

       

      But if that is the case then when I am logging in with the Service Account to HUB load balanced on Central Node I am able to see the Work Area as well. The service account also has ROOT Admin privilege then Work Area must not be visible via the service account credentials as well right on Central Node?

       

      Please help.

       

      Thanks & Regards,

      Sanchayan Bhowmik

        • Re: Qlik Sense Work Area shown only on Development Node
          Andrei Kaliahin

          Hi,

           

          "Work" area availability sets up in Node Purpose field - disregarding access rights (ROOT admin or whatever user)

           

          QMC-> Node->Edit Node - >Node Purpose:

          Development and Both - gives opportunity to develop applications.

          Production - don't.

           

          Most likely your central node is set to Production.

           

          Hope this helps.

           

          //Andrei

            • Re: Qlik Sense Work Area shown only on Development Node
              Sanchayan Bhowmik

              Hi Andrei,

               

              Yes my Central Node is configured as Production and Dev Node has Node Purpose of Development. But, if Work Area visibility is dependent only upon Node Purpose configuration, disregarding access rights -

               

              Then why is it that when logging into HUB load balanced on Central Node (with Node Purpose as Production) using the service account (which is running all our Qlik Sense services) we are able to view the Work Area?

               

              Please help.

               

              Regards,

              Sanchayan Bhowmik

                • Re: Qlik Sense Work Area shown only on Development Node
                  Andrei Kaliahin

                  Could you please describe the exact problem you encountered?

                   

                  Knowing that service account is more powerful that just RootAdmin helps? (which shouldn't be the case)

                  Or you have someone who is trying to use your central node with service account for development and you want to prevent this?

                   

                   

                  //Andrei

                    • Re: Qlik Sense Work Area shown only on Development Node
                      Sanchayan Bhowmik

                      Its not a problem as such. I am just trying to know why is there such a difference?

                       

                      The scenario is :

                       

                      • Logging into HUB >> LoadBalanced on Dev Node >> Node Purpose set is Development

                                  -- using any account I am able to see WORK Area and as you said it must be visible.

                       

                      • Logging into HUB >> LoadBalanced on Central Node >> Node Purpose set is Production

                                  -- using my ROOT Admin account ---> No WORK Area visible

                                  -- using service account which obviously has ROOT Admin privilege ---> WORK Area Visible.

                       

                       

                      Now as you said if WORK Area visibility is independent of Access Rights then why is the above scenario occurring when logging in using my ROOT Admin account and the Service Account?

                        • Re: Qlik Sense Work Area shown only on Development Node
                          Andrei Kaliahin

                          Sorry, my bad... I couldn't reproduce your issue on my side as soon as I'm not using default security rules.

                           

                          Check your security rules as well.

                           

                          From help:

                          PropertyDescription

                          Node purpose

                          Use the drop-down to select which environment the node is intended for: Production, Development, or Both.

                          This setting is defined in the QMC on each node that is added, and the effects are as follows:

                          • Production: this server is intended to support users to access apps but not create them. This means that when a user connects to this node, the Create new app button in the hub is not displayed to the user. To hide the Work section in the hub, you need to disable the security rule that grants the application owner access.
                          • Development: this server is intended to allow users to create apps but not serve the normal user traffic for users consuming published apps. In this case, the create and edit capabilities are enabled, but the server will not be considered when load balancing user traffic.
                          • Both: this setting allows both activities to occur on the node. This means that both normal user traffic is handled and users can create apps.

                           

                          Hope this helps.

                           

                          //Andrei

                          • Re: Qlik Sense Work Area shown only on Development Node
                            Levi Turner

                            The Work section of the Hub is intended to be the personal work space for an individual user. The Work section will show if one of two conditions are met:

                            1. The user has the ability to create a new app
                            2. The user has read rights on unpublished apps

                             

                            So basically when NodeType=Production, the Work area will still show if the user has read rights on an unpublished app (generally determined by App ownership).