Skip to main content
Announcements
Live today at 11 AM ET. Get your questions about Qlik Connect answered, or just listen in. SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Summing the Header versus the detail

In my application I have a balance table for the month and transactions that are generated that apply to the month.  What I want to do is sum the balances over time but not have it inflated by the transactions for that month.  I believe this falls into the classic case of header / detail, because the detail has been purged, I no longer can just some the detail.  I'm a newbie so I'm not sure how to enter the expression.

Thanks

13 Replies
CELAMBARASAN
Partner - Champion
Partner - Champion

Hi,

Can you post the expression?Also provide by which field you determine it is balance or transaction?.

Celambarasan

Not applicable
Author

My balance file is by month so it's a simple expression sum(end_balance * avg cost) which gives me the value of our inventory over time.  However, since I have the balance file linked to the transactions(ie production, adjustments and shipments) it is inflating the value.

Not applicable
Author

Let's say I had the two files (many to one relationship) linked together by a "key field".  Is there a way to do a sum(value distinct "key field")?

jonathandienst
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

Hi

Its sounds like on of the two fields is located in the transactions file. Is this correct?

Regards

Jonathan

Logic will get you from a to b. Imagination will take you everywhere. - A Einstein
Not applicable
Author