13 Replies Latest reply: Apr 18, 2012 8:19 AM by Scott Simmons RSS

Summing the Header versus the detail

In my application I have a balance table for the month and transactions that are generated that apply to the month.  What I want to do is sum the balances over time but not have it inflated by the transactions for that month.  I believe this falls into the classic case of header / detail, because the detail has been purged, I no longer can just some the detail.  I'm a newbie so I'm not sure how to enter the expression.

Thanks

• Summing the Header versus the detail
          Celambarasan Adhimulam

Hi,

Can you post the expression?Also provide by which field you determine it is balance or transaction?.

Celambarasan

My balance file is by month so it's a simple expression sum(end_balance * avg cost) which gives me the value of our inventory over time.  However, since I have the balance file linked to the transactions(ie production, adjustments and shipments) it is inflating the value.

Let's say I had the two files (many to one relationship) linked together by a "key field".  Is there a way to do a sum(value distinct "key field")?

Jonathan Dienst

Hi

Its sounds like on of the two fields is located in the transactions file. Is this correct?

Regards

Jonathan

• Re: Summing the Header versus the detail

One is the balance file and the other is a transaction file linked by a keyfield(year, month, product).  The balance file has the balance for the entire month and that is linked to all the tranactions for the month.  What I want to do is just get the value of inventory (balance * cost) for the month(stored in balance file) and I am using year and month as my dimension.  However, since I have it linked to the transactions it causes the number to be exagerated and so I need to find a way to sum based on just the data in the balance file.

Jonathan Dienst

Hi