24 Replies Latest reply: Mar 20, 2015 1:28 PM by Enmanuel Santana RSS

QlikView and R

Joao Frasco

Hi

Has anyone attempted getting QlikView and R talking to eachother?

I would like to do advanced statistical computing in R without having to go via Excel.

Thanks.

Joao.

• Re: QlikView and R
            Joao Frasco

Thank you very much for this.

I will try it out.

Joao.

Joao Frasco

Hi Henric

Thank you very much for this. i have got it working. Unfortunately, I'm still fairly new to QlikView and want to learn what I can bring back into QlikView from R, slowly, by working through the lines of code in the example. I'm also concerned that certain things may not be possible to bring back.

I would therefore like to ask if there is anyway to see the information in R once it has been passed through. I have R open, and can pass the information through, but I can't see it in the R session. I think this is becasue the code initializes a new R session, but don't know if this is the reason.

Is there any way to pass the information through to R, and then go an play with it in R?

Thanks.

Joao.

Elif Tutuk

Hi Joao-

The example that is available in the kit (Henric provided the link above) uses a R COM object to allow QlikView and R communication. This communication is 2 ways; QV can pass data to R, and QV can get data from R (Please note that the method that is used to get the data from R to QV -R.GetSymbol- may not be supported with the latest version of R, I think there is a new method but I did not have the chance to research). But the solution already does what you are asking. If you want to pass the data from QV to R, and then continue to interact with it in R, you can use the "copytoclipboard" option in QV to copy the selected data into clipboard and then you can use the R functionality to get the data from clipboard to R and continue to interact with the data in R. I hope this makes sense.

Thanks a lot,

Elif.

Joao Frasco

Thanks Elif.