7 Replies Latest reply: Jan 31, 2013 7:05 AM by darthsyd RSS

Using nested functions within Set Analysis

Hi Everyone,

This might seem simple, but I am quite new to Qlikview.

I have sales data loaded into qlikview on a weekly basis. I.e, every week data is loaded with sales of various clients for that week. I currently have a selection box that lets users select a date and a table that shows sales (and some other information) for each client.

I would like to now display a Year to date number for each client, based on the current selection. Assuming the user clicks on 15/12/2012, then I want a sum of all weeks of sales upto that date. That is, sum ALL weeks (or rows) that are LESSER THAN OR EQUAL TO the currently selected date.

My reasoning was I would need to use a set analysis that uses current selection AND a date comparing function.

My date field that the user selects is called SelectDate and my Sales field is called Sales. I only have 2012 data loaded.

This is what I came up, and it is miserably failing!

Sum ( {1 <SelectDate<={GetFieldSelections(SelectDate)}> } Sales)

Im sure i am tripping up with the bit in red i,e using <= for lesser than or equal to. But even if i remove the "<", my expression does not work.i.e

Sum ( {1 <SelectDate={GetFieldSelections(SelectDate)}> } Sales).. Which I assumed should simply sum all data based on current selection.

Any help will be much appreciated!

• Re: Using nested functions within Set Analysis
          Roland Vecera

Hi!

Quite some ways to achive this:

=sum({$<SelectDate={">=$(=yearstart(SelectDate))<=$(=only(SelectDate))"}>} Sales)

$... respect the current user selection

then overwrite SelectDate with a dynamic expression similar to:

SelectDate={">=01/01/2003<=10/01/2013"}

This tool can help with Set Analysis: http://tools.qlikblog.at/SetAnalysisWizard/

Hi rva_heldendaten,

Thank you so much for your reply.