Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Naude716
Contributor II
Contributor II

FirstSortedValue by Subtotal

Hi!

I'm relatively new to QlikSense. I have what I hope to be a pretty simple question.

I would like to make a table for the top DIAGNOSIS a member has by COST.

My data-set looks like this:

MEMBER_ID CLAIM_ID DIAGNOSIS COST PERIOD TYPE
1 11 Diabetes 100 Current 1
1 12 Chron's 75 Current 1
1 13 Chron's 75 Current 1
2 31 Obesity 100 Current 1
2 32 Obesity 200 Current 1
2 33 Diabetes 125 Current 1
2 34 Bronchitis 300 Prior 1
3 41 Cataracts 5 Current 2

More specifically, I want to return the top DIAGNOSIS summed by COST , for TYPE '1' members in the 'Current' PERIOD.

That being said, the resulting table I would like to create would look like this:

MEMBER_ID TOP_DIAGNOSIS Total_Current_Cost
1 Chron's 250
2 Obesity 425

So far I have this formula which almost works for the TOP_DIAGNOSIS column.

=Aggr(FirstSortedValue({<PERIOD= {'Current'}, TYPE={'1'} >} DIAGNOSIS, -COST),MEMBER_ID)

This formula returns the following column for this table:

1 Diabetes 250
2 Obesity 425

Thus, I believe my formula is looking claim by claim (row by row) showing the highest cost by diagnosis, and not summing up by diagnosis first.

TLDR:

How can I subtotal 'DIAGNOSIS' by 'COST' before returning the top 'DIAGNOSIS' by 'COST'?

Thanks in advance 😊

Labels (2)
11 Replies
pallavi_96
Partner - Contributor III
Partner - Contributor III

Hi,

Could you please explain how 425 will be the Total Current Cost for obesity?

ali_hijazi
Partner - Master II
Partner - Master II

Hello

in the FirstSortedValue function you need to sort rows by Claim ID in descending order
=Aggr(FirstSortedValue({<PERIOD= {'Current'}, TYPE={'1'} >} DIAGNOSIS, -CLAIM_ID),MEMBER_ID)
so for member ID = 1, the first sorted value Diagnosis ordered by CLAIM_ID is descending order is 13
i.e. Chron's

you wrote:
=Aggr(FirstSortedValue({<PERIOD= {'Current'}, TYPE={'1'} >} DIAGNOSIS, -COST),MEMBER_ID)