cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Nwinx1984
Contributor II
Contributor II

Load specific Excel sheet with variable name

Hello, I am new to Qlik app creation and I need to load many Excel files from a folder 

• Filename format: "TEXT - YYYY MMM.xlsx" (e.g. "Text - 2021 Jan", "Text - 2021 Feb", etc...)
  • Sheet name format: "MMM YYYY" (e.g. "Jan 2021", "Feb 2021", etc...). This is always the second sheet in the file.

It should be easy to extract from this the year and the month to tell the load editor which Excel table to load, but somehow, the variable containing the sheet name is not being evaluated properly.

My code (based on a thousand forum answers) is the following:

-----------------------------------------

//Before this code I set the structure of the "Tickets" table, which contain the Distributor, Date, Month and Year fields

For each File in FileList('[lib://xxx/xxx/Statistic - *.xlsx]')

TempSheetName:

LOAD
right(subfield(filebasename( ), ' - ', -1), 3) & ' ' & left(subfield(filebasename( ), ' - ', -1), 4) as SheetName;
set vSheetName = SheetName;

Table1:
Concatenate (Tickets)

LOAD

//Material is the header of one of the columns in sheet 2
If(Material='4600081' OR Material='4600083', 'SJ',

If(Material='4608125', 'N/A - Sales Message (SM)/pc', Material
)

) As [Distributor],

//...

"Date",
Month("Date") as "Month",
Year("Date") as "Year"

From $(File)
(ooxml, embedded labels, table is [$(vSheetName)]);
DROP Table TempSheetName;

NEXT File;

-------------------------------

Explanation: I create a temp table (I'm not expert at all and I haven't figured out yet the importance of a resident load in this case) where I calculate and store the Excel sheet name based on the file name (I've tested this part separately and it works. Then I set a variable vSheetName that contains that value and I use that variable to specify the name of the Excel sheet to load. (I tried both SET and LET with no success)