cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
parahvars
Contributor
Contributor

qilk Excel Sheet vs SQL data source

I am fairly new to QLIK I used it back in 2017 to 2019 then we switched to Power BI and Spot Fire once QLIK took away free access. The company I work for now is using QLIK and instead of using a SQL data source they are using Excel spreadsheets. I haven't received my license yet but I wanted to know if there are limitations with Excel spreadsheets as a data source or if there are any tips or tricks when using Excel data?

Although I am completely against this type of data source it looks like I will have to deal with it. Their current developer says that the filters don't work correctly and may not be able to work in QLIK. I find this hard to believe and once I get access I'm hoping this is not the case. I was just curious if there are limitations with QLIK and an Excel data source when compared to programs like Power BI.

Labels (1)
3 Replies
Ray_Strother
Support
Support

Hello,

I'm not sure of limitation they are speaking of. What specific problem are they facing? Below are some help site links that may help:

1. Loading data from Microsoft Excel spreadsheets

https://help.qlik.com/en-US/sense/November2023/Subsystems/Hub/Content/Sense_Hub/DataSource/load-data...

2. Guidelines for data and fields
https://help.qlik.com/en-US/sense/November2023/Subsystems/Hub/Content/Sense_Hub/Introduction/guideli....
marcus_sommer

Excel files are an easy to use source in Qlik and there are no real limitations. The load-performance of xlsx will be lower as xls and those lower as from text-files but accessing data from a data-base isn't mandatory faster - it will depend on various parameters. Are the data-sets are rather larger with hundreds of thousands of records in the files and/or hundreds or thousands of files it may need some time - but regardless from the source this a good reason to apply an incremental approach.