Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Community Office Hours - Bring your Ideation questions- May 15th, 11 AM ET: REGISTER NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BerryStraw
Contributor
Contributor

Text colour expression based on variable

Hey all,

a question regarding changing the colour of the text in a table. I have a complex master measure including several set analysis conditions. I have a variable which represents the title of the master measure.

So variable1: 'Difference # '&Max(Year)&' - '&Max(Year-1)

In the master measure the label expression is: =$(variable1)

In the table everything works fine, the master measure calculates correctly and the label adapts properly. Now I want to colour the values when they are above 0 green and below red.

So my text color expression the table is:

if($(variable1)>0),green(),red())

And I also tried:

if([$(variable1)]>0),green(),red())

Sadly this doesn't seem to reference the label and therefore doesn't color anything. I cannot use the Column(ColumnNo) option because of hidden and changing columns. The above seemed like a solid option.

Is there anyway to give visual cues based on the outcomes of the master measure?

Thanks

Labels (2)
5 Replies
Diter
Contributor III
Contributor III

Hi Barry,

Maybe you can try this way.

if($(variable1)< 0, 'red', Green()) or if(($(variable1))< 0, 'red', Green())

regards,

BerryStraw
Contributor
Contributor
Author

Hey,

thanks for your suggestion. I tried this, but it doesn't get the desired result.

Basically what I want is an excel like conditional formatting. Above 0 is green and below 0 is red.

Thanks

Diter
Contributor III
Contributor III

If  you want me to help you trying other ways please share some data with me.

regards,

kaushiknsolanki
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi,

In Qlik Sense you can not refer an expression name  within other expression.

So in your case you can not use the Expression Label in Color expression.