cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
NLD09
Contributor II
Contributor II

What is the difference between Qlik NPrinting and Application Automation

I am new to NPrinting and it seems to be pretty cool but I am running into a limitation of it.  For example,  I am looking for a way to email report with attachment to specific recipient with his/her data only and  I don't want to create each task for each recipient because I have like 150+ recipient.  I don't see a way of doing it (Looping) in NPrinting. 

I see a Qlik Application Automation video on YT and it can send out email with dashboard (attachment) and looping through email addresses etc. to send out filter data for specific recipient.  This is exactly what I am looking for.

It seems these two products are overlapping.  

Can you someone please explain what is the different between these two products?

Labels (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Lech_Miszkiewicz
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi @NLD09 

If you are new to NPrinting it will be hard to explain all available scenarios in single post. NPrinting and Application automation are 2 completely different tools:

• NPrinting works only With Qlik Sense on premise
  • Application automation works in SaaS

So the above is quite significant difference.

Then regarding your question (sending reports to individual users with data filtered to them). This is obviously possible. For this you will need to use recipient filters: https://help.qlik.com/en-US/nprinting/May2021/Content/NPrinting/DeployingQVNprinting/Import-Users-Fi...

Typical process looks like below:

• import users using template
    • during that process create and assign users filters
    • during this process assign users to group
  • assign group as task recipient
  • publish task
    • create publish task
    • add group as report recipients
    • task will validate which users belong to the group used in the task