Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Introduces a New Era of Visualization! READ ALL ABOUT IT
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Can QlikView store historical data in it?

Hi,

I’m new to QlikView and trying to understand how it works.

I learnt that in QlikView the data can be stored in QVD files and then used in reports.

How often these QVD files get refreshed? And is it controlled in Qlikview Server??

Can user manually trigger a refresh or it has to be scheduled?

Is this qvd files work as an interim database? And can we hold the historical data in this qvd files?

That’s is if I’m refreshing the qvd files monthly inserted of overwriting the existing data can we append the new data to the existing one.

(for eg if we don’t store the historical data in the source table can we add a new field in the qvd files and add the period (month) to the new field so next time we refresh the data new data will be appended  with new period so we have the historical data in qvd and create trend reports. Is this possible in qlikview or should we create this in a sql database and then connect to it to create reports?

Your help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Nedums

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
stevedark
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

The best approach for incrementals depends on the volume of data and how long it takes to pull down.  If extracting whole months is okay and the date stamped on the row can not change then QVD's with the month stamped in the file name (as you describe) makes a lot of sense.

If you want the scheduled reloads to always do current month, but have the ability for a manual reload to refresh a QVD for a past month, I would do this with a parameter that can be set in QlikView desktop.  You could use something similar to the date pickers in this example - but modified to select months rather than dates:

http://community.qlik.com/docs/DOC-4314