Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
joioan
Contributor III
Contributor III

Building a link table

Hello experts,

I have the following fact tables, their only common -as is- field is SEA_ID. The cardinality between the tables is many-to-many for field SEA_id. For the first table the unique primary key is Questionnaire_ID and for the second is Collaboration_ID. I tried making a link table for these two as I need them for my app. 

From what I studied, I need to create the link table by using the common dimension field, but then how would I comment out the dim field SEA_id from the facts?

I thought about doing so:

Questionnaire:
LOAD
Questionnaire_ID,
//SEA_id,
//Donation_Date as Date
SEA_id&Donation_Date as Key,

(other fields that describe the fact table but are uncommon between fact tables)
from Questionnaire.qvd;

Collaboration:
LOAD
Collaboration_ID,
//SEA_id,
//Registration_Date as Date,

SEA_id&Registration_Date as Key,

(other fields that describe the fact table but are uncommon between fact tables)
from Collaborations.qvd;

Link:
LOAD Key,
'Donation' as DateType
resident Questionnaire;
Concatenate(Link)
LOAD Key,
'Registration' as DateType
resident Collaboration;

How does this look to you? Can you please help me out?

Thank you in advance 🙂

Labels (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
BrunPierre
Partner - Master
Partner - Master

Including a flag (Type) to distinguish the origin of the fields can be particularly beneficial, especially when the two tables share identical structures.

Link table would equally work, given your scenario, Concatenate is a more simplistic approach with excellent performance.

Read more from here :Concatenate and Link tables 

View solution in original post

6 Replies
BrunPierre
Partner - Master
Partner - Master

The typical approaches to associate two fact tables with a single common field is using a CONCATENATE or a JOIN, with your specific use case and data model in mind.