Updated By:

Troy_Raney

Created date:

Jan 31, 2023 7:17:59 AM

Troy_Raney_0-1675167407304.gif

Environment

• Qlik Gold Client

Transcript

Greetings! My name is Steve George and I'm a Senior Solution Engineer of SAP with a focus on Gold Client. In this video, I provide insight and how-to content for the Gold Client Number Range Utility. I feel obliged to mention that this content is an advanced topic, but if you have prior experience in working with number ranges, that could prove helpful here.

This video will focus on these key topics: use cases and the intended user audience, notable topics related to this program, and how-to execute this program. I will conclude with several useful topics, a summary of best practices, and where to locate additional resources.

The typical use case is to execute the Number Ranges program after having performed a client refresh by following one of these two processes:
Gold Client was used to copy master data from the source into an empty client.
A database copy was performed so that all data in the source was replicated to the target.

Because the organization's Basis team typically executes client refreshes, it makes the most sense for this team to own the execution of this program. It may be best to think of having to execute this program as a client refresh post-processing step.

Let's now spend time focused on a few notable topics related to this program.
It is important to manage number ranges in the target client because data is being copied from some other client - typically Production - into this target, and because users are likely creating new data in the target as well. Gold Client's solution is to increase or inflate the last assigned number to some higher number within each range. And just to be clear, this program is executed is within the target client.