Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Format value based on another dimension

Hello,

I am somewhat new to Qlik Sense and am setting up a pivot table.  My data is set up in such a way that there is a value field with a number, and an "Attribute" field.  The "Attribute" field is being used to list out the values.  An example of the data is shown below, and I would like to reflect the formatting similarly in the pivot table.

AttributeValue
01: Sales   100,000.00
02: Cost of Sales     90,000.00
03: Gross Margin     10,000.00
04: Operating Expenses       5,000.00
05: Operating Margin       5,000.00
06: OM %5.00%
07: Adjusted %3.00%
08: Adjustment     (2,000.00)

After playing around with the expression formulas for the value, I have found that it is possible to determine formatting via formula, however I am having trouble with formulating the logic to make it format based on the Attribute.

This is as far as I have gotten, but it is currently reading the condition as false, and thus formatting everything as a percentage.

If(

Attribute="01: Sales",

Num(Sum(Value)/1000,'#,##0'),

Num(Sum(Value),'#,##0.00%'))

Is it possible to format conditionally in a pivot table?

Any thoughts are quite welcome.

Warm Regards,

Briana

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Oleg_Troyansky
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi Briana,

the only thing that appears to be wrong in your formula is the use of double quotes for the string '01: Sales' instead of single quotes. So, I'd correct the formula this way:

If(

Attribute='01: Sales',