Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Morgoz
Contributor III
Contributor III

Understanding Concatenations with preceding Loads

Hello,

I'm new with Qlik, and I'm trying to understand the way Qlik works with concatenations.

I know it is a quite strange and nonsense example, but it is just for testing and studying:

I have an Inline table like this:

MESES:
LOAD * Inline
[mes
ene.
feb.
mar.
abr.
];

And I'm trying to understand why this:

MESES_2:
 LOAD *;
 LOAD * Resident MESES;
 concatenate 
 LOAD *,
 RowNo() as rnb
 Resident MESES;

Does not through the same result as this:

MESES_2:
 LOAD *;
 concatenate (MESES) LOAD *,
 RowNo() as rnb
 Resident MESES;

I though that putting the table name "MESES" in parenthesis is the same as telling Qlik to take the Resident table "MESES" and concatenate it with (in this case) itselve.

Thank you!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Or
MVP
MVP

My understanding is the Concatenate requirement breaks the chain of preceding loads. See e.g.

https://community.qlik.com/t5/QlikView-App-Dev/load-doesn-t-work-on-concatenated-tables/td-p/1199024

In any case, I strongly advise against this sort of writing. Nesting preceding loads is almost always a bad idea, because even if it works, it's very hard to read. Using resident loads is much better.

View solution in original post

6 Replies
Or
MVP
MVP

This example doesn't make any sense, as you said...

In the first case you are loading four months, then you are loading the same four months into the same table (two tables with the exact same fields are automatically concatenated by Qlik), then you are loading the ensuing eight lines and adding a field. The first Load * doesn't even do anything since you're doing a preceding Load * from the same Load *.  MESES2 is not created because the first set of loads was automatically concatenated to MESES, and the second one is implicitly concatenated to MESES because it's the previous table.