Skip to main content
Announcements
Accelerate Your Success: Fuel your data and AI journey with the right services, delivered by our experts. Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ioannaiogr
Creator II
Creator II

issue with canonical date implementation

Hello all. I'm pretty sure I'm implementing my date bridge incorrectly.

I studied again this post by HIC CanonicalDate  .

I have two tables 

Applications_Fact:

Load ApplicationID,

ApplicationIssueDate,

ApplicationSubmittedDate

ApplicantID;

Applicants_Dimension:

ApplicantID,

ApplicantInsertedDate;

One applicantID can have many applicationIDs. I've looked into it and If I understood correctly, my fine enough grain table is my fact table because one application id has one value of each date associated.

Imagine that my data in fact table are like

ApplicantID    ApplicationID  ApplicationIssueDate   ApplicationSubmittedDate   ApplicantDateInserted

1                                  1                        11/5/2023                                11/5/2023                                       10/5/2023

1                                  2                        12/5/2023                                 11/5/2023                                       10/5/2023

4                                  100                       9/5/2023                                 8/5/2023                                       7/5/2023

In between note: The thing is, that there are applicantID from the dimension table that got inserted in the academicYear (which i have in my canonical calendar which i'll show later), so they have an  ApplicantinsertionDate  BUT they don't have an applicationID in the fact table... So these get ignored. I'm missing these completely. Even if I joined, with the date bridge for applicationID they get LOST and ignored.

Anyway, I did a mapping table as suggested for my Dimension table like:

MapTable: