Skip to main content
Announcements
Accelerate Your Success: Fuel your data and AI journey with the right services, delivered by our experts. Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
StreetTalender
Contributor
Contributor

Creating migration jobs for each schema, not for each table

Hello,

I am new to Talend, and need help to design a migration job.

Is there any way to create a job which lets me migrate a whole schema, not only a table?

I have about 5000 tables within 10 schemas to migrate, and I want to avoid creating 5000 jobs one by one.

The immigration requirement is simple, let’s say I have a schema named “A” in the source DB, and and I want exactly the same schema “A” (including all tables and their data) in the target DB.

Environment:

• Talend Studio 8.0.1
  • source and target schema are both Oracle

I would really appreciate if anyone can help me!

Labels (2)
4 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi

You need Dynamic schema functionality which is only available in Talend subscription products, you can read a scenario in this page.

The job design looks like:

main job:

tForEach--iterate--tRunJob

iterate each schema from a list and pass the current schema name to child job.

child job:

tOracleConnection1-oncomponentok-tOracleConnection2

|onsubjobok

tOracleTableList--iterate--tOracleInput--main--tOracleOutput--oncomponentok--tOracleCommit

|onsubjobok

tOracleClose1--oncomponentok--tOracleClose2

Regards

Shong

StreetTalender
Contributor
Contributor
Author

Dear Shong,

@Shicong Hong​  

Thanks a lot for the help!

If you don't mind, I would like to know about settings of this part: tOracleTableList--iterate--tOracleInput--main--tOracleOutput

1. Regarding tOracleTableList, I am not sure what I should choose in “fetch from” field. Can you point it out for me? I couldn’t find documentation for this field.
  2. Regarding tOracleInput, I’d like to know what to write in “Table name” field and “Query“ field.