Skip to main content
Announcements
SYSTEM MAINTENANCE: Thurs., Sept. 19, 1 AM ET, Platform will be unavailable for approx. 60 minutes.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Identify duplicates and merge records

Hi,  I am fairly new to talend and first time using this forum, so apologies in advance.

I use Talend open studio Big Data (free version) and as part of my job I have to carry certain integrations.

I have searched and tried several solutions mentioned by other users, but unfortunately it does not serve the purpose of my need

Currently I am working on a Project where I need to merge records where if duplication occurs, however, if the master and child record contain same data then no merge is required, this is based on the personal data.

We are using maria DB and our database contain few  hundred tables and from those table, we are only interested in few tables that will help identify duplicated record. The concept of this to eliminate duplication.

So, we have a person table(personID, firstname, suranme), which links to the person address table (personaddid, personID, town, city, county etc), person email table (personemailID, personID, email, emailtype(home, private, work) and person telephone number (personTelephoneID, personID, telephone, telephonetype(home, private, work). 

Based on these tables, I first need to identify if the record is duplicated, if so, only merge missing data to master record.

For example,

Person Table

PersonID

Firstname

Surname

Jo

Blog

Jo

Blog

Person Telephone

PersonTelephoneID

PersonID

Telephone

(+44)01234567890

(+44) 01234567890

(+44)01234567891

These two candidate are classed as duplicate because candidate 2 contains all data same as candidate 1 except with one unique number