Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing a new Enhanced File Management feature in Qlik Cloud! GET THE DETAILS!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

MSSQL file input to tMap

Hi everyone. I'm brand new to Talend, and am struggling to do the following.

The purpose of the job I am creating is to take data from a source MSSQL database and put the results into a different target MSSQL database.  

I have complex MSSQL (T-SQL) SELECT query with some complicated logic and joins.  Rather than using a whole bunch of tDBInput components and attempting to create the correct JOIN logic and transformations in a tMap, what I would like is to use a resource .sql file, execute it, and have the resulting schema available to me in a tMap, so that I can map the results to an output table in a different database.  Is this even possible?  

i.e.

resource file (SQL file) >>> resulting schema available as input to a tMap  >>> map to an output >>> output to target database

I have found varied threads in this community where people have asked similar questions, but none of the solutions have worked for me (some made no sense, or I didn't appear to have the option of the components mentioned).

Many thanks in advance

Steve

Labels (1)
10 Replies
fdenis
Master
Master

you are on the good way but each project have it's own solution.
just create one job who read and load data into 2 sql db.(did you have db links between dbs).
then use context to guive your job the sql query and the output table name.
then create a job who read raw data (sql query) and call previeous job……
good luck
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

I'm not quite sure what you're suggesting there.

I have have got a little further with this.

I have used a tDBInput component and used my SQL query in the Query text box, and created the schema.