Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing a new Enhanced File Management feature in Qlik Cloud! GET THE DETAILS!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jmceachern
Contributor
Contributor

Question about custom Java code

I'm very new to Talend so this may be the most basic question ever!
I have java code in the following format that I'd like to use in a tJava component:
import java.io.BufferedReader;
import java.io.InputStream;
import java.io.InputStreamReader;
public class XYZ {
public static void main(String[] args) throws Exception {

// code here
}
private static String loadStream(InputStream s) throws Exception {
// code here
}
}
In playing with the tJava component, I see I can put my import statements in the Advanced Settings tab. However, this component only seems to allow simple Java code snippet (no class declaration or private static String loadStream....).
I then read about routines and thought maybe I could put my class definition in a routine and then basically put the code contained within main in the tJava component. However, my class definition depends on the import libraries and I could only see how to import external libraries through a JAR file for routines.
I hope I missing something obvious but could anybody help me understand how to bring a java program in the format I'm using into Talend?
Thanks so much!
Labels (3)
6 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes routines which depends on external libraries needs an explicit tLibraryLoad component in every job which uses this routine. Thats why I would not build such routines and would instead create a custom component which can carry a couple of jars.
You can create your own class (also with inheritance) in the code section. Simply create a routine and code instead of static method your own class. This class will be available in other routines (static class methods).