Skip to main content
Announcements
See what Drew Clarke has to say about the Qlik Talend Cloud launch! READ THE BLOG
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CantGetItToQlik
Contributor II
Contributor II

2 Variables to Filter Same Dimension

Hello. I am new to Qlik Sense but have developed in other dashboard tools. I have 2 variables that are set by making a selection from a dropdown list. I want to use these 2 values to filter a dimension in a table to compare the data for 2 different units - members of the same dimension. How do I accomplish this  in Qlik? If user selects Unit A and Unit D, how do I display only those 2 units in the table? Thanks in advance.

Labels (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

My suggestion is to use the set in the measure rather than the dimension. The measure would look like (warning not syntax checked):

sum({<Unit={'$(var1)','$(var2)'}>} Cost * Qty)

If you were going to create a calculated dimension, the dimension expression would be:

=aggr(only({<Unit={'$(var1)','$(var2)'}>} Unit), Unit)

If it's not working, please post the full text of your expression or dimension. 

-Rob

View solution in original post

6 Replies
rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

I'm confirming that you do mean actual variables, not fields.  And that you have a field named "Unit" for example. 

If my understanding is correct, you could reference the variables in a set expression in your chart.  The set expression would be: 

{<Unit={'$(var1)','$(var2)'}>}

Then you would use that set in a measure or a calculated dimension. For example, if your chart Dimension was "Unit" and you wanted to count the "Event" field associated with each Unit your measure would be:

Count({<Unit={'$(var1)','$(var2)'}>} Event)

-Rob
http://masterssummit.com
http://qlikviewcookbook.com
http://www.easyqlik.com

CantGetItToQlik
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author