Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Nick_Altis_Trial
Contributor
Contributor

Calculations in set expressions

Hi,

I am new to Qlik Sense and i have a question about whether it's possible to perform calculations inside of a set expression or whether there is a better process for something like this.

I have data on values per state and want to count distinct states within a country where there are more than 200 new cases since a date.

Seems the below syntax is not valid but i'm not sure how to go about it another way.

COUNT({<country = 'America',_date="<=30/08/2020",SUM(new_cases)='>=200'>} Distinct state)

Labels (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
marcus_sommer

You may try it in this way:

COUNT({<country = {'America'}, _date = {"<=30/08/2020"}, state = {"=SUM(new_cases)>=200"}>} Distinct state)

- Marcus

View solution in original post

6 Replies
marcus_sommer

You may try it in this way:

COUNT({<country = {'America'}, _date = {"<=30/08/2020"}, state = {"=SUM(new_cases)>=200"}>} Distinct state)

- Marcus

Nick_Altis_Trial
Contributor
Contributor
Author

Thanks for the reply Marcus. 

I tried the expression and it's close, not quite giving the correct answer. i'm not exactly sure how the ---state = {"=SUM(new_cases)>=200"}--- part is calculated by Qlik but after some tests seems that the expression returns all distinct states where SUM(new_cases) >= 200 and somehow excludes the date function (possibly that's just a coincidence though and it's calculating something else) 

marcus_sommer

If the sum() should respect any other condition they need to be included there like:

COUNT({<country = {'America'}, _date = {"<=30/08/2020"},
                     state = {"=SUM({< _date = {"<=30/08/2020"}>} new_cases)>=200"}>} Distinct state)

- Marcus

Nick_Altis_Trial
Contributor
Contributor
Author