Skip to main content
Announcements
SYSTEM MAINTENANCE: Thurs., Sept. 19, 1 AM ET, Platform will be unavailable for approx. 60 minutes.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
draginko
Contributor
Contributor

Replacing employee ID in the chart with his name, from same table

Hey guys,

Maybe a very silly question, but I am new to Qlik and to scripting, but..

Have a table Employee, with Names of employees, their IDs, hours worked,  reports etc.

I want to diplay the amount of employees reporting to other eployees. Eg to employee with EMP_ID of 7 is reporting 15 other employees. Pretty simple.

But the thing is, that in Treemap I am using is still displaying the EMP_ID  instead of the employee name, eg Frank. 

Is there any way, how to display the associated Name, instead of his ID ? The Reports To value is refering to IDs, so it is numeric and the Names are in string.  Both columns are in one table.

For getting the amount of reports is working [Reports To] in Dimension, and Count(distinct[Full Name]) in Measures. Now I want to display Full Name instead of IDs. 

Was trying for hours to search for forums and videos, tried using pick, match, replace, fieldvalue and many other functions but it seems there is non working for me. Or maybe I am doing mistakes in scripting logic.

Any idea is much appreciated

5 Replies
thi_pham
Creator III
Creator III

As my understanding, you created a treemap with:
- Dimension formular = EMP_ID . Title = 'Reports to'
- Measure formular = Count(distinct[EMP_ID]).
In principle, you can just replace EMP_ID in both of your dimension and measure with the [FULL NAME] field and get the chart with [FULL NAME] displayed:
- Dimension formular = [FULL NAME]. Title = 'Reports to'
- Measure formular = Count(distinct[FULL NAME])
Be aware that if you have some employees with same [FULL NAME], you should have a solution to separate them.
It should work well. I think. Otherwise, can you share some dummy data for checking?