Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Community Office Hours - Bring your Ideation questions- May 15th, 11 AM ET: REGISTER NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MEJ
Contributor III
Contributor III

Evaluation of going from Qlikview to Qlik Sense

Hi all,

I have been developing Qlikview applications for about 15 years, on and off. 

I downloaded the free Desktop Qlik Sense version, just to try it out to see how it works. Also to see if there are any benefits from using Qlik Sense, and if we as a company should migrate to Qlik Sense instead. 

Installation was no problem at all. However, I didn't seem to be able to load from any drive (only the C-drive).  Is that a limitation in the "Free" Desktop version? I would also like to migrate an existing Qlikview application to Qlik Sense format. Maybe that is prohibited as well in the free version? I heard from other people that it might not convert 100%, and some of the "load from links" needs another "prefix". I briefly spoke to a colleague who said the way Qlik Sense joins tables are different from Qlikview (not sure if that's correct or not though).

All in all, I have no problems with Qlikview, and it works fine as it is. Just not sure if Qlik Sense would be a huge improvement, and worth investing time in. If it is possible to just click a button to migrate our existing QV applications straight into Qlik Sense, fine. But if it requires a lot of work, and it is a whole new way of scripting, and working with the databases, layout, etc., I might wait with an upgrade project. 

What are your experiences converting existing Qlikview applications to Qlik Sense? Is it better to create them from Scratch, or let Qlik Sense do the job for you? Some of the applications I have created are fairly extensive, and would take quite a bit of time to replicate from scratch.

Thanks

3 Replies
Or
MVP
MVP