Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

YTD, MTD issue

Hi,

Having a bit of trouble creating a YTD/MTD measure in qlik sense.

I have read the below and it's not making a lot of sense to me unfortunately.

YTQ, QTD, MTD and WTD

My Date Field is called DATE in the table. So I have entered Floor(DATE) as DateNum in my script

I've also created

LET vToDate = Today();

LET vToDatePrevious = Today()-365;

However when I add the last formula for the above discussion to my measure it does not filter YTD but shows the total overall for all years. See formula below, may be long winded but I'm very new to this.

Sum(    {<DELETED_FLAG={'0'}, TYPE = {'SI' , 'SC'} , NOMINAL_CODE = {'4000', '4101' , '4100' , '4002' , '4003' , '4102'} ,Year=, Month=, Quarter=, Week=, DATE=, DateNum={">=$(=Num($(=vToDate& 'Start(Max(DateNum))')))<=$(=Max(DateNum))"}  >}    NET_AMOUNT)

Can anyone point out my error please?

Thanks,

Nick

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
OmarBenSalem

Hi Nich,

when you create a DATE={"EXPRESSION"} as in our case, please don't leave BLANKS:

DATE={">=  $( =YearStart  (Max(DATE)))<=  $(=Max(DATE))    "} 

Because we're surronding the expression by " ", when we leave blanks, Qlik will misinterpret our expression:

DATE={">=$(=YearStart(Max(DATE)))<=$(=Max(DATE))"} 

Find your app attached, it's all working just fine

If your question ahs been answered, please close the thread but marking the correct answer as so !

Have a nice day

View solution in original post

17 Replies
OmarBenSalem

Hi Nicholas,

Don't panic, set expressions seems difficult at first sight, but then you'll love working with them.

Let's suppose you have a date field (you don't have to create variables); only a date field will do the job.